UFO’s new priority list

Now my sewing room is up and running and I have christened the new cutting mat by cutting some 2.5″ strips for bias binding for two quilts I’m hoping to finish from my UFO pile. I have two tops completed that just need to be layered and quilted so these are my priority.I did go through all the UFOs I have at home, (there are more at mums) took photos and had a look to see which ones I want to finish off next. I selected 3 that make the top of the list.

1. I found a single quilt kit I’d brought some time ago that was incomplete and it is almost finished just requiring a border fabric to be added then to be layered and quilted (see sneak peak below)2. I also found a quilt pattern I made up using the English paper piecing method. I like the pattern as it is another good one for using leftovers. You know how much I love a scrappy quilt. I decided to lay the blocks out at an angle which makes it bit more of a challenge. I will leave the tacking stitches in place until the quilt top is finished.

3. This is another English paper pieced project made to my own design using a diamond template. I have discovered quite a lot of completed sections made for this one.

I am looking forward to getting some more work done on these 3 as well as the mini grandmothers garden that is slowly but surely growing.

The two quilts with completed tops found recently are both scrappy and king size. I managed to get both layered over this weekend (with mums help and use of her dining room table). Over the two days we managed to get one quilted and I brought it home to finish off hand sewing the bias binding.

All clipped and ready to finish off hand sewing the bias binding down.

The finished article.

This one is going to be gifted to a quilting friend who has always loved my scrappy quilts but cannot make one herself as she can’t deal with the tiny pieces. I have just got to add a label and this will be given to her for Christmas this year. I hope she likes it!

Leave a comment